All about the CYGNUS AUSTRINIUS constellation

FUN FACTS

1. Cygnus bedeutet auf Lateinisch "Schwan".
2. Es ist bekannt als eines der am leichtesten zu erkennenden und zu erkennenden Sternbilder
3. Er beherbergt zahlreiche entdeckte Exoplaneten innerhalb seiner Grenzen
4. Die Milchstraße verläuft durch die Mitte dieses Sternbildes
5. Einer der dort beheimateten Exoplaneten, Kepler-22b, weist vermutlich erdähnliche Bedingungen auf

Ein Überblick

Das Sternbild Schwan (Cygnus) besteht aus einer T-förmigen Gruppe von Sternen, wobei ein etwas schwächerer Stern, Albireo, das T in ein Kreuz verwandelt. Sein hellster Stern, der Superriese Deneb, ist auch Teil des so genannten Sommerdreiecks, einer hellen Sterngruppe, die aus den Sternen Wega und Altair besteht.

Das Sternbild gehört zu den von Ptolemäus katalogisierten antiken Sternbildern und ist sowohl auf der nördlichen als auch auf der südlichen Halbkugel von Juni bis Dezember in den Wintermonaten sichtbar.

Der Mythos

In der griechischen Mythologie gab es eine Figur namens Leda, die einst die Königin von Sparta war. Sie soll sehr schön gewesen sein, und ihre Schönheit fiel keinem Geringeren als dem König der Götter selbst, Zeus, auf.

Eines Tages wurde Leda von einem grausamen Adler angegriffen. Als Zeus dies sah, verkleidete er sich als Schwan und rettete die Königin von Sparta, indem er sie mit seinen Flügeln beschützte. Nach diesem Ereignis legte Leda zwei Eier, aus denen zwei verschiedene Zwillingspaare hervorgingen: Kastor und Pollux sowie Klytämnestra und Helena von Troja.

In celebration of these births, Zeus placed the swain in the night sky to commemorate yet another of his successful conquests, thus birthing the constellation of Cygnus.

Die Konstellation

Das Sternbild Cygnus befindet sich im vierten Quadranten des Nordhimmels und ist zwischen den Breitengraden -40 und +90 Grad sichtbar. Es ist umgeben von den Sternbildern Cepheus, Draco, Lacerta, Lyra, Pegasus und Vulpecula und gehört neben Aquila, Ara, Centaurus, Corona, Australis und anderen zur Familie der Herkules-Sternbilder.

Von den neun Hauptsternen, aus denen er besteht, gibt es fünf bemerkenswerte Himmelskörper: Deneb, ein blau-weißer Überriese, 200-mal größer als unsere Sonne und 200.000-mal leuchtkräftiger; Rukh, ein Dreifach-Sternsystem; Sadr, ein 2.000 Lichtjahre von der Erde entfernter Stern mit einem Radius, der 150-mal so groß ist wie der der Sonne; Gienah, ein orangefarbener Riese, doppelt so groß wie die Sonne; und Albireo, ein Doppelstern.

Möchten Sie mehr über andere Sternbilder als Cygnus erfahren? Finden Sie mehr über Equuleus oder Auriga heraus. Sie können auch einfach hier klicken, um eine vollständige Liste der Sternbilder zu erhalten.

05 July 2021

Fun Facts

1. Cygnus means ‘swan’ in Latin
2. It is known as one of the most easily spotted and recognized constellations
3. It hosts numerous discovered exoplanets within its boundaries
4. The Milky Way passes through the middle of this constellation
5. One of the exoplanets it hosts, Kepler-22b, is believed to enjoy earth-like conditions

An overview

The constellation of Cygnus makes up a T-shaped grouping of stars, with a slightly fainter star, Albireo, turning said ‘T’ into a cross. Its brightest star, the super-giant, Deneb, is also part of what is known as the Summer Triangle, which is a bright asterism consisted by stars Vega and Altair.

The constellation is one of the ancient constellations catalogued by Ptolemy, and is visible in both the northern and southern hemispheres, from June to December in the winter months of the latter.

The myth

In Greek mythology, there existed a character named Leda, who was once the Queen of Sparta. She was said to be extremely beautiful, and her beauty caught the eye of nonother than the King of Gods himself, Zeus.

One day, Leda was attacked by a ferocious eagle. Seeing this, Zeus disguised himself as a swan and rescued the Queen of Sparta, protecting her with his wings. After the event, Leda then produced two eggs, which birthed two separate sets of twins: Castor & Pollux and Clytemnestra and Helen of Troy.

In celebration of these births, Zeus placed the swain in the night sky to commemorate yet another of his successful conquests, thus birthing the constellation of Cygnus.

The constellation

The constellation of Cygnus is situated in the northern sky’s fourth quadrant, and is visible between latitudes -40 to +90 degrees. It is surrounded by the constellations of Cepheus, Draco, Lacerta, Lyra, Pegasus, and Vulpecula; and belongs to the Herculean family of constellations alongside Aquila, Ara, Centaurus, Corona, Australis, and more.

Of the nine main stars it consists, there exists five celestial bodies of note: Deneb, a blue-white supergiant 200 times larger than our sun and 200,000 times more luminous; Rukh, a triple-star system; Sadr, an extremely distant star 2,000 lightyears away from earth with a radius 150 times that of the sun; Gienah, an orange giant twice the size of the sun; and Albireo, a double-star.

Want to learn about other constellations aside from Cygnus? Find out more about Equuleus or Auriga. Alternatively, you can simply click here for a full list of constellations.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS