All about the LITTLE DIPPER constella

Der Kleine Wagen ist eine der ältesten anerkannten Sternkonstellationen der nördlichen Hemisphäre. Er befindet sich etwa 30 Grad südöstlich des Großen Wagens und enthält einen der wichtigsten Sterne am Nachthimmel, den Polarstern (Polaris).

Seit Tausenden von Jahren nutzen Seefahrer den Kleinen Wagen, um ihre nächtlichen Routen zu bestimmen. Bis etwa zum 19. Jahrhundert war der Kleine Wagen als Ursa Minor oder "Kleiner Bär" bekannt, da die alten Astronomen dazu neigten, bärenähnliche Namen für Himmelskörper zu verwenden.

Erst um die Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts übernahmen amerikanische Astronomen die Bezeichnung Kleiner Wagen für Ursa Major und Ursa Minor und leiteten diesen Namen von einer afrikanischen Quelle ab, die ihn als "Trinkkürbis" bezeichnete. Der Kleine Wagen befindet sich fast genau in der Mitte des Nordpols, was ihn für die Navigation an den meisten Orten der nördlichen Hemisphäre ideal macht.

Kleiner-Wasseramsel-Mythologie

Alle alten Kulturen erzählten Geschichten über die Sterne und Himmelskörper. Das Betrachten der Sterne war ein natürlicher Zeitvertreib in den Tagen, bevor elektrisches Licht die Sterne nachts in den Großstädten unsichtbar machte. Die alten Kulturen hatten Tausende von Jahren Zeit, um zu den Sternen aufzuschauen, sie zu beobachten, wie sie sich jede Nacht langsam drehen, und ihre größeren jährlichen Muster zu beachten.

Griechen, Phönizier und amerikanische Ureinwohner

Obwohl der griechische Mythos von Ursa Minor nur ein paar tausend Jahre alt ist, hat fast jede Kultur im Laufe der Geschichte den Nordstern an seinem fast festen Platz über dem Nordpol beobachtet. Der Name der Inuit für den Polarstern ist "Nuutuittut", was so viel bedeutet wie "er bewegt sich nie". Da sich der Nordstern jedoch fast direkt über dem Nordpol befindet, ist er für die Navigation in den weit nördlichen Breitengraden, in denen die Inuit leben, nicht nützlich.

Um 1000 v. Chr. kannten die Babylonier Ursa Minor als den "Wagen des Himmels", und die alten Phönizier haben ihr Navigationswissen möglicherweise mit den Griechen auf ihren Handelsrouten geteilt. Die Namensgebung "Bär" ist wahrscheinlich griechisch, und der Name "Kleiner Bär" ist mit ziemlicher Sicherheit vom ursprünglichen "Großen Bären" abgeleitet, den Homer in der "Odyssee" als Navigationshilfe für die Griechen anführt.

Was ist die Kleine Wasseramsel?

Der Kleine Wagen ist eine Sternenkonstellation, die aus den folgenden sieben Sternen besteht:

  • Polaris, oder Alpha Ursae Minoris

  • Kochab, oder Beta Ursae Minoris

  • Yildun, oder Delta Ursae Minoris

  • Pherkad, oder Gamma Ursae Minoris

  • Zeta, oder Ursae Minoris

  • Eta, oder Ursae Minoris

  • Epsilon, oder Ursae Minoris

In der westlichen Kultur ist es eines der ursprünglich 48 ptolemäischen und 88 modernen Sternbilder. Der hellste Stern des Sternbilds, Polaris, ist der 48. hellste Stern am Himmel mit einer scheinbaren Helligkeit von 1,97 bis 2,00. Sie können ihn finden, indem Sie den leichter erkennbaren Großen Wagen (Ursa Major) suchen und dann seinen beiden untersten Sternen 30 Grad südöstlich bis zum "Schöpfkellengriff" des Kleinen Wagens folgen.

Kleiner Wagen - Annäherung

Die beiden Sterne des Großen Wagens, die auf den Polarstern zeigen, heißen Alpha bzw. Beta Ursae Majoris. Sie bilden den Rand der "Schale" des Großen Wagens, und viele Menschen nennen diese Sterne wegen ihrer relativen Nähe zu Polarstern und Canes Venatici die "Zeiger". Kochab, der zweithellste Stern in Ursa Minor, befindet sich am unteren Ende der "Schale" des Kleinen Wagens und hat eine scheinbare Helligkeit von 2,08, wodurch er nachts sogar in den meisten großen Städten sichtbar ist.

Kleine Wasseramsel Fakten

In der modernen Astronomie rangiert der Kleine Wagen an 56. Stelle von 88 Sternbildern oder Sterngruppen. Obwohl er zu den kleinsten Sternbildern am Nachthimmel gehört, nimmt er 256 Quadratgrad der die Erde umgebenden Sternensphäre ein. Sein hellster Stern, Polaris, ist 431 Lichtjahre von der Erde entfernt. Er trägt viele Namen, darunter Polarstern, Lodestar, Stern von Arcady und Alruccabah.

Die meisten anderen Sterne in Ursa Minor sind näher an der Erde als Polaris. Kochab zum Beispiel ist nur 126 Lichtjahre entfernt, aber weil er ein relativ schwacher roter Riese ist, hat er eine geringere scheinbare Helligkeit. Der am weitesten entfernte Stern in Ursa Minor ist Pherkad in 480 Lichtjahren Entfernung von der Erde und hat eine scheinbare Helligkeit von 3,04. Polaris, Kochab und Pherkad sind die einzigen Sterne in Ursa Minor, die für das menschliche Auge an lichtverschmutzten Orten sichtbar sind.

Ursa Minor Erscheinungsbild

Zu den Sterntypen in Ursa Minor gehören orangefarbene Riesen, rote Riesen und gelb-weiße Überriesen. Sie haben eine scheinbare Helligkeit von 4,21 bis 5,02 und sind damit zu schwach, um durch den atmosphärischen Dunst von Großstadtsmog und elektrischen Lichtern zu scheinen. Was die Deep-Sky-Objekte anbelangt, so gibt es im Kleinen Wagen nur relativ wenige. Es gibt nur etwa drei oder vier bekannte Galaxien im Sternbild Ursa Minor.

Wichtigste Sterne in Ursa Minor

Die drei hellsten Sterne, Polaris, Kochab und Pherkad, sind für die Navigation und das Auffinden von Objekten in der Nähe am Nachthimmel am nützlichsten. Während Polaris mit bloßem Auge wie ein einziger Stern aussieht, handelt es sich in Wirklichkeit um einen Haufen von drei Sternen, die sich auf einer Umlaufbahn befinden.

Ursa Minor Sterne und Exoplaneten

Der Hauptstern, Polaris Aa, ist ein Überriese mit der 5,4-fachen Masse der Sonne, und es ist nicht sicher, ob er von Planeten umkreist wird. Kochab hingegen hat mindestens einen bestätigten Planeten, einen Gasriesen namens Beta Ursae Minoris b. Ebenso gibt es mindestens einen bestätigten Planeten, der Pherkad umkreist, einen Gasriesen namens Pherkad Minor b.

Die Sterne in Ursa Minor sind auch aus einem anderen Grund wichtig. Sie bilden die Kulisse für ein jährliches Himmelsereignis, den Ursiden-Meteorschauer, der vom 18. bis 25. Dezember stattfindet.

Wo befindet sich der Kleine Wagen?

Während viele Seefahrerkulturen seit der Erfindung des Segelns den Polarstern für die nächtliche Navigation genutzt haben, war dies einigen Kulturen nicht möglich. Wenn die Inuit nachts nach oben blickten, sahen sie drei Sterne, die unbeweglich blieben, während der Rest des Sternenfeldes in einer regelmäßigen Umlaufbahn rotierte.

Der Grund dafür, dass sich der Polarstern kaum mit der Erdrotation mitbewegt, ist, dass er die nördlichste Spitze der Erdachse markiert. Da der Polarstern fast genau auf einer Linie mit der Erdachse liegt, dreht sich die Erde einfach um ihn, ohne von seiner scheinbaren Position abzuweichen.

Je nachdem, in welcher Hemisphäre Sie sich befinden, kann der Kleine Wagen auf dem Kopf oder auf dem Kopf stehen. In beiden Fällen sind die Variablen für Rektaszension und Deklination identisch, sodass Sie das Sternbild einfach mit einer Sternkarte finden können.

Little Dipper

By Jake Riley, SR Senior Editor

The Little Dipper is one of the oldest recognized star constellations in the Northern Hemisphere. It’s located about 30 degrees southeast of the Big Dipper, and it includes one of the most important stars in the night sky, the North Star, or Polaris.

For thousands of years, sailors have used the Little Dipper to navigate their routes at night. Until around the 19th century, the Little Dipper was known as Ursa Minor, or the “Little Bear,” as ancient astronomers tended to use bear-related names for heavenly bodies.

It wasn’t until around the middle of the 19th century that American astronomers adopted the Dipper moniker for both Ursa Major and Ursa Minor, deriving that name from an African source, which labeled it the “Drinking Gourd.” The Little Dipper is almost exactly centered around the North Pole, making it ideal for navigation in most places throughout the Northern Hemisphere.

Little Dipper Mythology

All ancient cultures told stories about the stars and heavenly bodies. Star gazing was a natural pastime in the days before electric lights made the stars invisible at night in big cities. Ancient cultures had thousands of years to look up at the stars, observe them slowly rotating each night and take note of their larger annual patterns.

Greeks, Phoenicians and Native Americans

Although the Greek myth of Ursa Minor is only a couple of thousand years old, just about every culture throughout history has observed the North Star in its nearly fixed place above the North Pole. The Inuit name for Polaris is “Nuutuittut,” which means "never moving.” Since the North Star is almost directly above the North Pole, however, it isn’t useful for navigation at the far-northern latitudes where Inuit people live.

By around 1000 B.C., the Babylonians knew Ursa Minor as the “Wagon of Heaven,” and ancient Phoenicians may have shared their navigational knowledge with Greeks on their trade routes. The “bear” naming convention is probably Greek, and the name “Little Bear” is almost certainly derived from the original “Big Bear,” which Homer cites as a navigation aid for the Greeks in the “Odyssey.”

What Is the Little Dipper?

The Little Dipper is a star constellation consisting of the following seven stars:

  • Polaris, or Alpha Ursae Minoris

  • Kochab, or Beta Ursae Minoris

  • Yildun, or Delta Ursae Minoris

  • Pherkad, or Gamma Ursae Minoris

  • Zeta, or Ursae Minoris

  • Eta, or Ursae Minoris

  • Epsilon, or Ursae Minoris

In Western culture, it’s one of the original 48 Ptolemaic and 88 modern constellations. The brightest star in the constellation, Polaris, is the 48th brightest star in the sky with an apparent magnitude of 1.97 to 2.00. You can find it by locating the more easily recognizable Ursa Major, or “Big Dipper,” and then following its two lowermost stars 30 degrees southeast to the “ladle handle” of the Little Dipper.

Little Dipper Proximity

The two Big Dipper stars that point to Polaris are called, respectively, Alpha and Beta Ursae Majoris. They comprise the edge of the Big Dipper’s “bowl,” and many people call these stars the “Pointers” because of their relative proximity to Polaris and Canes Venatici. Located at the bottom of the Little Dipper’s “bowl,” Kochab, the second-brightest star in Ursa Minor, has an apparent magnitude of 2.08, making it visible at night even in most large cities.

Little Dipper Facts

In modern astronomy, the Little Dipper ranks 56th in size out of 88 star constellations, or asterisms. While it’s one of the smallest constellations in the night sky, it occupies 256 square degrees of the stellar sphere surrounding Earth. Its brightest star, Polaris, is 431 lightyears from Earth. It goes by many names, including Pole Star, Lodestar, Star of Arcady and Alruccabah.

Most of the other stars in Ursa Minor are closer to Earth than Polaris. Kochab, for example, is only 126 lightyears away, but because it’s a relatively dim red giant, it has a lower apparent magnitude. The most distant star in Ursa Minor is Pherkad at 480 lightyears from Earth and an apparent magnitude of 3.04. Polaris, Kochab and Pherkad are the only stars in Ursa Minor visible to the human eye from light-polluted locations.

Ursa Minor Appearance

The types of stars in Ursa Minor include orange giants, red giants and yellow-white supergiants. They range in apparent magnitude from 4.21 to 5.02, making them too faint to shine through the atmospheric haze of big city smog and electric lights. As far as deep-sky objects are concerned, the Little Dipper has relatively few. There are only around three or four known galaxies within the Ursa Minor constellation.

Most Important Stars in Ursa Minor

The three brightest stars, Polaris, Kochab and Pherkad, are the most useful for navigation and for locating nearby objects in the night sky. While Polaris looks like one star to the naked eye, it’s actually a cluster of three stars locked in orbit.

Ursa Minor Stars and Exoplanets

The main star, Polaris Aa, is a supergiant with 5.4 times the mass of the Sun, and no one is sure if it has any planets orbiting around it. Kochab, on the other hand, has at least one confirmed planet, a gas giant called Beta Ursae Minoris b. Likewise, there is at least one confirmed planet orbiting Pherkad, a gas giant called Pherkad Minor b.

The stars in Ursa Minor are important for another reason, as well. They form the backdrop of an annual celestial event called the Ursid Meteor Shower, which occurs from December 18 to December 25.

Where Is the Little Dipper Located?

While many sailing cultures have used the Pole Star for nighttime navigation since the invention of sailing, some cultures have been unable to do so. When the Inuit looked up at night, they saw three stars remaining stationary while the rest of the starfield rotated in a regular orbit.

The reason the North Star hardly moves with the Earth’s rotation is that it marks the northernmost tip of the Earth’s axis. Because Polaris falls almost exactly in line with the Earth’s axis, the Earth simply rotates around it without deviating from its apparent position.

Depending on which hemisphere you’re standing in, the Little Dipper could be upside-down or rightside-up. In either case, the right ascension and declination variables will be the same, so you can simply follow a star map to find the constellation.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I really name a star?

Yes, you can! Each order is unique to the Star Register and is recorded in the official Official register of Stars. We are one of the few legitimate Registries using advanced mapping software to assign your order.

What happens when I place my order:

Place your order on our order page and one of our experienced employees will handle everything else for you, this includes:
-Preparing relevant paperwork and electronic transmission of all necessary data to the Star register Database.
-Receipt of the response with the unique coordinates of your star
-Preparation of the star chart with the coordinates
-Preparation of the certificate and the gift Kit.

What's the difference between your different products:

We currently offer three products: (1) Deluxe (2) Supernova and (3) Twin. Each of this has it's own benefits and they can be compared on our homepage comparison chart.

How does the star chart work?

You can use the coordinates listed on your star chart to locate the star in the night sky or by searching our Official register of Stars which shows you a real photo of the star in the night sky.

Can I choose the constellation myself?

Yes, this is possible on the order form.

I can't open my order:

As our orders are digitally delivered, you can either open the kit in your browser or through Adobe Reader.

Is my order unique?

Yes. Every star coordinate is only allocated once, to a unique registration.

Where is my gift pack?

If you haven’t received the digital star pack by email within 24 hours please contact orders@starregister.org

How long is the delivery time?

We deliver by PDF within 24 hours via email. If you have not received your certificate within that time, please email orders@starregister.org

Is the star visible?

Yes, the easiest way to find the star is through the Official register of Stars. By entering the name it is easy to view the star in the night sky. However, it is also possible to find the location of the star using a telescope.

I am looking for general information about the product (cost, shipping method, payment method).

Please see our gift kit page.

I can’t manage to place an order (technical problem)!

Please send an email to orders@starregister.org

Can i have the details of my certificate changed?

Once we send the gift kit pack we aren't able to change it.