Die schillernde Welt der Sterne

Star light, star bright. Twinkle, twinkle, little star. We are all made of stars...

Sterne sind einer der faszinierendsten Teile der Natur. Einige existieren seit Milliarden von Jahren, andere haben spektakuläre Geburten und feurige, explosive Tode erlebt. Manche kann man nur mit einem Amateurteleskop sehen. Andere haben sich der Menschheit erst nach jahrelanger Suche und mit modernster Ausrüstung offenbart.

Was wissen Sie über Sterne? Was möchten Sie wissen? Sprechen wir über Sterne, ihren Ursprung, ihre Eigenschaften und warum sie wichtig sind.

Was sind Sterne? Die Definition von Sternen

Einfach ausgedrückt, sind Sterne große Gasbälle. Sie werden durch ihre eigene Schwerkraft zusammengehalten und bestehen hauptsächlich aus Wasserstoff und Helium. In ihrem Kern findet eine Kernfusion statt, die Wärme und andere Elemente wie Sauerstoff, Stickstoff und Kohlenstoff erzeugt.

Sterne sind unglaublich heiß. Die heißesten Sterne im Universum können Temperaturen von 40.000 Kelvin oder mehr erreichen, was etwa 71.540°F entspricht. Doch selbst die kältesten Sterne sind heißer als wir und unser Planet.

Das Sternenlicht braucht Millionen und Milliarden von Jahren, um über den Himmel zu wandern. Aus diesem Grund "sehen" wir oft Sterne, die gar nicht mehr da sind!

Wie weit sind die Sterne entfernt?

Die Sterne sind über das gesamte Universum verteilt, so dass einige weiter von der Erde entfernt sind als andere.

Der nächstgelegene Stern ist Proxima Centauri. Er ist 4,24 Lichtjahre entfernt, und da ein Lichtjahr 5,88 Billionen Meilen beträgt, sind das fast 25.300.000.000.000 Meilen.

Lange Zeit glaubte man, der am weitesten entfernte Stern sei der neun Milliarden Lichtjahre entfernte Ikarus. Mit dem Hubble-Weltraumteleskop gelang es der NASA jedoch, das Licht eines noch tiefer im Kosmos gelegenen Sterns zu entdecken: Earendel. Er ist 28 Milliarden Lichtjahre entfernt und eigentlich schon lange verschwunden. Er ist vor Millionen von Jahren explodiert; es hat nur eine Weile gedauert, bis das Licht die Erde erreicht hat.

Sterben Sterne?

Sterne sind nicht wirklich lebendig, also können sie auch nicht sterben. Es ist jedoch üblich, von der "Geburt" und dem "Tod" von Sternen zu sprechen. Man hört auch Ausdrücke wie "der Lebenszyklus eines Sterns", aber damit ist nicht die Geburt und der Tod gemeint, sondern die Entstehung und Zerstörung.

Sterne sterben, wenn ihnen der Brennstoff ausgeht. Dieser Brennstoff ist der Wasserstoff, der ihre Kernfusion in Gang hält. Wenn Sie sich erinnern, wird der Kern durch die Schwerkraft des Sterns zusammengehalten, und wenn er diese Funktion nicht mehr erfüllen kann, kollabiert er.

Was dann passiert, hängt von der Größe des Sterns ab. Wenn er groß ist, explodieren seine äußeren Schichten, während er kollabiert, und bilden eine Supernova. Die Supernova explodiert schließlich ebenfalls und erzeugt entweder einen Neutronenstern oder ein Schwarzes Loch, je nach der Menge der übrig gebliebenen Masse

Kleinere Sterne sterben weniger dramatisch. Sie blähen sich auf und werden zu Roten Riesen, wenn ihr Wasserstoff verbraucht ist und ihr Helium in ihrem Kern verschmilzt. Die äußeren Schichten werden zu planetarischen Nebeln, und der innere Kern wird zu einem Weißen Zwerg, einer überhitzten Masse, die sich im Laufe der Jahre langsam abkühlt.

Wie werden Sterne gebildet?

Sterne entstehen aus gigantischen Gas- und Staubwolken im Weltraum. Durch ihre Schwerkraft kollabieren sie in sich selbst und erhitzen sich dabei, und aus dieser Masse werden Sterne geboren. Dies wird als Sternentstehungstheorie bezeichnet.

Woraus sind Sterne gemacht?

Sterne bestehen hauptsächlich aus Wasserstoff und Helium, können aber insgesamt viele Elemente enthalten, darunter Kohlenstoff, Eisen, Sauerstoff und Stickstoff. Wenn sie sterben, wird dieses Material zurück in den Weltraum geschleudert, und neue Sterne können aus den Überresten alter Sterne entstehen. Das ist Weltraum-Recycling!

Warum glitzern die Sterne?

Es ist mehr als nur ein Kinderreim. Die Sterne scheinen wirklich am Nachthimmel zu funkeln. Aber was passiert da oben wirklich?

Einfach ausgedrückt, funkeln die Sterne aufgrund der Art und Weise, wie die Erdatmosphäre das Licht beugt und bricht. Eine gängige Methode, sich dies vorzustellen, ist die Vorstellung von geraden Linien und Zickzacklinien. Wenn die Erde keine Atmosphäre hätte, könnten wir das Sternenlicht in einer geraden, direkten und ungeblendeten Linie sehen. Da die Erdatmosphäre das Licht jedoch verzerrt, scheint es sich in einer Zickzacklinie fortzubewegen, was ihm auch das Aussehen eines Zwinkerns oder Blinzelns verleiht.

Entfernte Sterne funkeln stärker als nahe gelegene, da ihr Licht einen noch weiteren Weg zurücklegen muss, bevor es uns erreicht.

Verschiedene Arten von Sternen

Es gibt viele verschiedene Arten von Sternen, und die Menschen haben ihr ganzes Leben damit verbracht, sie zu studieren und zu kategorisieren!

Wenn Sie jedoch nur die Grundlagen wissen möchten, finden Sie hier eine einfache Übersicht über die Klassifizierung der Sterne:

Blaue Riesen: Blaue Riesen sind die größten und heißesten Sterne in unserem Sonnensystem. Auf der stellaren Klassifizierungsskala mit den Buchstaben O, B, A, F, G, K und M sind die blauen Riesen typischerweise O und B.

Rote Zwerge: Rote Zwerge sind die häufigsten Sterne im Universum. Sie sind kleiner und kühler als die anderen Sterntypen und gehören daher zu den K- und M-Sternen. Da sie sich nicht bis zum Punkt der Explosion überhitzen, leben sie außerdem länger. Einige Astronomen schätzen, dass Rote Zwerge bis zu 10 Billionen Jahre überleben können.

Gelbe und orangefarbene Zwerge: Sie sind heißer als rote Zwerge, aber kälter als blaue Riesen. Die Sonne gilt als gelber Zwergstern. Sie ist mit G eingestuft: genau in der Mitte der Skala.

Braune Zwerge: Braune Zwerge werden manchmal als "gescheiterte Sterne" bezeichnet. Sie sind zu kalt, um eine Kernfusion wie normale Sterne zu erzeugen, und sie strahlen nicht immer Licht aus. Sie werden oft mit Planeten verwechselt.

Zusätzlich zu den Buchstaben- und Farbklassifizierungen gibt es viele, viele Möglichkeiten, Sterne nach ihren Merkmalen zusammenzufassen. Zum Beispiel sind Doppelsterne Paare von Sternen, die durch ihre Schwerkraft auf der gleichen Umlaufbahn gebunden sind. Protosterne sind "Baby-Sterne", die sich noch in der Entstehung befinden. Neutronensterne sind die Überreste von gigantischen Sternen, die in sich selbst kollabiert und explodiert sind.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen einem Stern und einem Planeten?

Die Unterscheidung zwischen Sternen und Planeten kann sehr schwierig sein. Es gibt jedoch ein paar wichtige Unterschiede, die Ihnen helfen können, die Unterscheidung zu verstehen.

Der größte Unterschied zwischen Sternen und Planeten besteht darin, dass sich die Planeten um die Sterne drehen und nicht andersherum. Die Erde dreht sich um die Sonne; die Sonne dreht sich nicht um die Erde.

Ein weiterer Unterschied ist das Licht. Sterne erzeugen und emittieren ihr eigenes Licht dank der in ihrem Kern stattfindenden Kernfusion. Planeten haben keine Kernfusion, sie erzeugen also kein Licht, sondern reflektieren nur, was sie von ihren Sternen empfangen.

Wenn du dir Objekte am Nachthimmel ansiehst und dich fragst, welche davon Sterne und welche Planeten sind, sieh nach, ob sie glitzern. Planeten sind nahe genug an der Erde, dass ihr Licht nicht gebrochen wird, wenn es auf die Atmosphäre trifft, sodass sie gleichmäßig erscheinen. Sterne sind viel weiter entfernt, so dass sie zu funkeln scheinen.

Was ist eine Sternschnuppe?

Hast du dir schon einmal eine Sternschnuppe gewünscht? Hast du dich jemals gefragt, was eine Sternschnuppe eigentlich ist?

Es mag Sie überraschen zu erfahren, dass Sternschnuppen keine echten Sterne sind. Es handelt sich vielmehr um Staub und Weltraumgestein, das mit extrem hoher Geschwindigkeit durch den Himmel rast. Sie bewegen sich so schnell, dass sie beim Eintritt in die Erdatmosphäre ein erhitztes Glühen annehmen, weshalb sie eine Spur zu hinterlassen scheinen.

Ein anderes Wort für Sternschnuppen ist Meteore. Sie sind auch als Sternschnuppen bekannt.

Wie viele Sterne gibt es im gesamten Universum?

Keiner kennt die genaue Anzahl der Sterne im Universum. Uns fehlt die Technologie, um jeden einzelnen zu zählen, und außerdem wissen wir immer noch nicht, wie weit und tief das Universum tatsächlich reicht. Wir entdecken immer noch weit entfernte Sterne, die vor Milliarden von Jahren am Rande des beobachtbaren Universums lebten und starben!

Wir können jedoch grobe Schätzungen über die Anzahl der Sterne vornehmen, insbesondere für Sterne in unserer Nähe. Astronomen schätzen, dass es in der Milchstraßengalaxie etwa 100 Milliarden Sterne gibt.

Was sind die berühmtesten Stars?

Wahrscheinlich kennen Sie einige Sterne. Selbst wenn Sie kein Astronom sind, sind sie seit Jahrhunderten Gegenstand von Mythen, Legenden und Religionen. Auch in der Popkultur haben sie Eingang gefunden, von astrologischen Trends bis hin zu den Namen fiktiver Figuren.

Auch wenn diese Liste bei weitem nicht vollständig ist, seien hier nur einige berühmte Stars genannt:

Polaris: Der Polarstern, der auch als Nordstern bekannt ist, gilt gemeinhin als der hellste Stern am Himmel, ist aber eigentlich nur der 45. hellste! Er ist jedoch immer noch sehr hell, und da er sich in der Nähe des Himmelsnordpols befindet, wird er seit Jahrtausenden als Navigationshilfe verwendet. Daher rührt auch sein Ruf als Leitstern.

Sirius: Der tatsächlich hellste Stern am Himmel ist Sirius. Er ist auch als Hundsstern bekannt und befindet sich im Sternbild Canis Major oder "Der große Hund". Wissenswertes: Sirius ist technisch gesehen ein Doppelsternsystem mit zwei Sternen, aber mit bloßem Auge erscheint er als einzelner Punkt am Himmel.

Plejaden: Die Plejaden sind besser bekannt als die Sieben Schwestern. Wie der Name schon sagt, handelt es sich um einen Sternhaufen mit sieben hellen, sichtbaren Sternen, obwohl es noch ein paar mehr gibt, wenn man die richtige Ausrüstung hat, um sie zu sehen.

Wega: Wega ist ein heller blauer Stern, der mit bloßem Auge gesehen werden kann. Er gehört zum Sternbild Lyra und galt in der Antike als der Nordstern.

Betelgeuse: Betelgeuse, ausgesprochen "Beetlejuice", ist einer der hellsten Sterne im Sternbild Orion. Er hat eine unverwechselbare rötliche Farbe und ist ein Favorit unter Amateur-Sternguckern mit Teleskopen.

Es gibt noch einen weiteren berühmten Stern, den wir nicht vergessen dürfen: die Sonne! Obwohl viele Schulkinder sie für einen Planeten halten, ist sie in Wirklichkeit ein Stern, und unser Planet Erde hängt von ihr ab.

Können Sie einen Stern benennen?

Ja, das können Sie. Wenn Sie neben Sirius und Beteigeuze einen besonderen Namen in den Nachthimmel setzen möchten, können Sie einen Stern benennen. Sie können dies für sich selbst tun, es verschenken oder als Akt der Nächstenliebe durchführen. Die Möglichkeiten sind endlos!

dazzling stars

The Dazzling World of Stars

By Jake Riley, SR Senior Editor

Star light, star bright.
Twinkle, twinkle, little star.
We are all made of stars...

Stars are one of the most enchanting parts of nature. Some have existed for billions of years; others have had spectacular births and fiery, explosive deaths. Some can be seen with nothing more than an amateur telescope. Others have only revealed themselves to mankind after years of searching and state-of-the-art equipment.

What do you know about stars? What do you want to know? Let's talk about stars, their origins, their characteristics, and why they matter.

What Are Stars? The Definition of Stars

In simple terms, stars are big balls of gas. They're held together by their own gravity and compromised mostly of hydrogen and helium. Nuclear fusion happens at their core, which produces heat and other elements like oxygen, nitrogen, and carbon.

Stars are incredibly hot. The hottest stars in the universe can reach temperatures of 40,000 Kelvin or more, which translates to around 71,540°F. However, even the coldest stars are hotter than us and our planet.

Starlight can take millions and billions of years to travel across the sky. Because of this, we often "see" stars that are no longer there!

How Far Away Are Stars?

Stars are spread throughout the universe, so some are farther from Earth than others.

The closest star is Proxima Centauri. It's 4.24 light-years away, and since a light-year is 5.88 trillion miles, that's almost 25,300,000,000,000 miles.

For a long time, the farthest star was believed to be Icarus, which was nine billion light-years away. However, NASA was able to use the Hubble Space Telescope and find the light of a star even deeper in the cosmos: Earendel. It's measured at 28 billion light-years away, and it's actually long gone. It exploded millions of years ago; it's just taken awhile for the light to reach Earth.

Do Stars Die?

Stars aren't truly alive, so they can't die. However, it's common for people to talk about the "birth" and "death" of stars. You'll also hear phrases like "the life cycle of a star," but rather than a true birth and death, it's referring to their formation and destruction.

Stars die when they run out of fuel. This fuel is the hydrogen that keeps their nuclear fusion going. If you remember, the nuclear core is held together by the star's gravity, so when it isn't able to perform this function anymore, it collapses.

What happens next depends on the size of the star. If it's a large one, its outer layers will explode as it collapses and form a supernova. The supernova will eventually explode as well, creating either a neutron star or a black hole depending on the amount of leftover mass

Smaller stars die less dramatically. They swell, turning into red giants as their hydrogen is used up and their helium fuses in their cores. The outer layers become planetary nebula, and the inner core becomes a white dwarf, a super-heated mass that slowly cools off over the years.

How Are Stars Formed?

Stars are formed from gigantic clouds of gas and dust in space. Their gravity makes them collapse into themselves, heating up as they go, and stars are born from that mass. This is called star formation theory.

What Are Stars Made Of?

Stars are made primarily of hydrogen and helium, but they can contain many elements overall, including carbon, iron, oxygen, and nitrogen. When they die, this material gets ejected back into space, and new stars can be born from the remnants of old ones. It's space recycling!

Why Do Stars Twinkle?

It's more than just a nursery rhyme. Stars really do seem to twinkle in the night sky. So what's really happening up there?

Simply put, stars twinkle because of the way that the Earth's atmosphere bends and refracts light. A common way to conceptualize this is by imagining straight lines and zig-zagged lines. If Earth didn't have an atmosphere, we could see starlight in a straight, direct, and unblinking line. Since the Earth's atmosphere is distorting it, however, starlight appears to travel in a zig-zagged line, which is also what gives it a winking or twinkling appearance.

Distant stars twinkle more than closer ones since their light has even farther to travel before it reaches us.

Different Types of Stars

There are many different types of stars, and people have spent their entire lives studying and categorizing them!

If you just want the basics, however, here's a simple rundown of star classifications:

Blue giants: Blue giants are the biggest and hottest stars in the solar system. On the stellar classification scale with the letters O, B, A, F, G, K, and M, blue giants are typically O and B.

Red dwarves: Red dwarf stars are the most common in the universe. They're smaller and cooler than other types, so they're ranked K and M. Additionally, since they don't overheat to the point of explosion, they live longer. Some astronomers estimate that red dwarves can survive up to 10 trillion years.

Yellow and orange dwarves: These are hotter than red dwarves but colder than blue giants. The Sun is considered a yellow dwarf star. It's rated G: right in the middle of the scale.

Brown dwarves: Brown dwarves are sometimes called "failed stars." They're too cold to generate nuclear fusion like regular stars, and they don't always emit light. They're often mistaken for planets.

In addition to letter and color classifications, there are many, many ways to group stars together according to their characteristics. For example, binary stars are pairs of stars that are gravitationally bound in the same orbit. Protostars are "baby stars" that are still forming. Neutron stars are the remains of gigantic stars that collapsed into themselves and exploded.

What's the Difference Between a Star and a Planet

The subject of stars vs. planets can be a tricky one. However, there are a few key differences that can help you understand the distinction.

The biggest difference between stars and planets is that planets revolve around stars and not the other way around. The Earth revolves around the Sun; the Sun doesn't revolve around the Earth.

Another difference is light. Stars generate and emit their own light thanks to the nuclear fusion going on in their cores. Planets have no fusion, so they don't create light; they only reflect what they receive from their stars.

If you're looking at objects in the night sky and wondering which are stars and which are planets, see if they twinkle. Planets are close enough to Earth that their light doesn't refract when it hits the atmosphere, so they appear steady. Stars are much farther away, so they appear to twinkle.

What's a Shooting Star?

Have you ever made a wish on a shooting star? Have you ever wondered what a shooting star actually is?

You might be surprised to learn that shooting stars aren't really stars. Instead, they're dust and space rocks that are streaking through the sky at extremely high speeds. They move so fast that they pick up a heated glow as they enter the Earth's atmosphere, and that's why they appear to leave a trail behind them.

Another word for shooting stars is meteors. They're also known as falling stars.

How Many Stars Are There in the Entire Universe?

No one knows the exact number of stars in the universe. We lack the technology to count every one, and furthermore, we're still unsure how far and deep the universe actually goes. We're still discovering far-flung stars that lived and died billions of years ago on the edges of the observable universe!

We can make rough estimates of star counts, however, especially for stars close to home. Astronomers estimate that there are roughly 100 billion stars in the Milky Way Galaxy.

What Are the Most Famous Stars?

You're probably familiar with some stars. Even if you aren't an astronomer, they've been subjects of myths, legends, and religions for centuries. They've also entered pop culture as everything from astrological trends to fictional character names.

Though this list is far from comprehensive, here are just a few famous stars:

Polaris: Also known as the North Star, Polaris is commonly thought of as the brightest star in the sky, but it's actually the 45th brightest! It's still quite luminous, however, and since it's close to the north celestial pole, it's been used as a navigational tool for millennia. This is where it gets its reputation as a guiding light.

Sirius: The actual brightest star in the sky is Sirius. Also known as the Dog Star, it's located within the constellation Canis Major or "The Big Dog." Fun fact: Sirius is technically a binary system of two stars, but it appears to the naked eye as a single point in the sky.

Pleiades: Pleiades is more commonly known as the Seven Sisters. Like its name suggests, it's a star cluster with seven bright, visible stars, though there are quite a few more than that if you have the right equipment to view them.

Vega: Vega is a bright blue star that can be seen with the naked eye. It's part of the Lyra constellation, and in ancient times, it was actually considered the North Star.

Betelgeuse: Pronounced "Beetlejuice," this is one of the brightest stars in the Orion constellation. It has a distinctive reddish color, and it's a favorite of amateur stargazers with telescopes.

There's one more famous star that we can't forget: the Sun! Though many schoolchildren mistake it for a planet, it's really a star, and our actual planet Earth depends on it.

Can You Name a Star?

Yes, you can. If you'd like to put a special name in the night sky to join Sirius and Betelgeuse, you can name a star. You can do it for yourself, give it as a gift, or perform it as an act of charity. The possibilities are endless!

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I really name a star?

Yes, you can! Each order is unique to the Star Register and is recorded in the official Official register of Stars. We are one of the few legitimate Registries using advanced mapping software to assign your order.

What happens when I place my order:

Place your order on our order page and one of our experienced employees will handle everything else for you, this includes:
-Preparing relevant paperwork and electronic transmission of all necessary data to the Star register Database.
-Receipt of the response with the unique coordinates of your star
-Preparation of the star chart with the coordinates
-Preparation of the certificate and the gift Kit.

What's the difference between your different products:

We currently offer three products: (1) Deluxe (2) Supernova and (3) Twin. Each of this has it's own benefits and they can be compared on our homepage comparison chart.

How does the star chart work?

You can use the coordinates listed on your star chart to locate the star in the night sky or by searching our Official register of Stars which shows you a real photo of the star in the night sky.

Can I choose the constellation myself?

Yes, this is possible on the order form.

I can't open my order:

As our orders are digitally delivered, you can either open the kit in your browser or through Adobe Reader.

Is my order unique?

Yes. Every star coordinate is only allocated once, to a unique registration.

Where is my gift pack?

If you haven’t received the digital star pack by email within 24 hours please contact orders@starregister.org

How long is the delivery time?

We deliver by PDF within 24 hours via email. If you have not received your certificate within that time, please email orders@starregister.org

Is the star visible?

Yes, the easiest way to find the star is through the Official register of Stars. By entering the name it is easy to view the star in the night sky. However, it is also possible to find the location of the star using a telescope.

I am looking for general information about the product (cost, shipping method, payment method).

Please see our gift kit page.

I can’t manage to place an order (technical problem)!

Please send an email to orders@starregister.org

Can i have the details of my certificate changed?

Once we send the gift kit pack we aren't able to change it.