Welches ist der hellste Stern am Himmel?

Wenn Sie in den Himmel schauen, dauert es nicht länger als ein oder zwei Augenblicke, bis die hellsten Sterne Ihre Aufmerksamkeit erregen. In einer klaren Nacht können einige der hellsten Sterne so aussehen, als ob sie zum Greifen nah wären.

Haben Sie schon einmal darüber nachgedacht, welcher der Sterne der hellste ist? Man muss kein Astronom oder Wissenschaftler sein, um neugierig auf das Universum zu sein. Tatsache ist, dass einige Sterne heller sind als andere, und dafür gibt es genaue Gründe.

Bei Star Register erhalten wir viele Fragen zu den verschiedenen Arten von Sternen, wie man einen Stern benennt und sogar zu den Kosten für den Kauf eines Sterns.

Dies gibt uns die Möglichkeit, Anfängern wie Ihnen das wunderbare Universum um uns herum näher zu bringen.

In den folgenden Abschnitten werfen wir einen Blick auf die fünf (5) hellsten Sterne, identifizieren sie und geben Ihnen einige interessante Informationen darüber, warum einige Sterne heller sind als andere.

Faktoren zur Bestimmung der Helligkeit von Sternen

Wenn du dir die Namen von Sternbildern ansiehst und dein Lieblingssternbild auswählst, fällt dir vielleicht auf, dass einige Sterne heller sind als andere. Vielleicht fragst du dich, warum das so ist und was bei der Bestimmung der Helligkeit von Sternen eine Rolle spielt.

Seit Jahrhunderten verwenden die Astronomen bestimmte Richtlinien, um die Helligkeit von funkelnden Sternen zu bewerten. Bei allen Weltraumobjekten wird die Helligkeit anhand einer Helligkeitsskala bewertet. Die Magnitudenskala hat zwei Bewertungen: scheinbar und absolut.

Die scheinbare Helligkeit gibt an, wie hell ein Stern am Himmel für das bloße Auge erscheint. Für jemanden mit normalem Sehvermögen ist es relativ einfach festzustellen, welcher von vielen Sternen heller zu sein scheint. Um die scheinbare Helligkeit zweier Sterne richtig vergleichen zu können, müsste sich eine Person in gleicher Entfernung von beiden Sternen befinden.

Die absolute Helligkeit ist ein wenig objektiver. Sie bezieht sich auf die Eigenleuchtkraft, die Entfernung und andere Faktoren, die die Helligkeit des Sterns verringern können. Als Faustregel gilt: Je niedriger die absolute Helligkeit eines Sterns ist, desto heller erscheint er dem Beobachter.

Auf der Grundlage dieser Methode zur Bewertung der Helligkeit sehen wir uns die fünf (5) hellsten Sterne am heutigen Himmel an.

1. Die Sonne

Unerfahrene Sterngucker erkennen die Sonne normalerweise nicht als Stern. Der häufigste Fehler ist die Annahme, dass ein Stern ein Objekt ist, das nur nachts zu sehen ist. In Wirklichkeit ist die Sonne nachts zu sehen, obwohl ihre liebenswerteste Eigenschaft darin besteht, dass sie den Planeten beleuchtet, während er sich um sie dreht. Ja, das gilt für jedes Objekt in der Galaxie, das man als Sonne bezeichnen könnte.

Als erdnächster Stern hat die Sonne eine scheinbare Helligkeit (-26,7) und eine absolute Helligkeit von nur +4,8.

Es ist erwähnenswert, dass einige Organisationen die Sonne nicht als Stern betrachten. Daher wird der nächste Stern auf dieser Liste von diesen Organisationen im Allgemeinen als der hellste Stern am Himmel angesehen.

2. Sirius

Von allen Sternen am Himmel haben nur wenige einen erkennbaren Namen. Sirius wäre einer dieser Sterne. Dieser Stern ist etwa 8,6 Lichtjahre von der Erde entfernt und damit der nächstgelegene Stern außer der Sonne. Dieser Stern hat eine scheinbare Helligkeit von -1,46 und eine absolute Helligkeit von +1,4.

Sirius wird auch als Hundestern bezeichnet, da er im Sternbild Canis Major, dem Großen Hund, steht. Es ist erwähnenswert, dass Sirius zwar als zweithellster Stern eingestuft wird, sein Ansehen als leuchtendes Objekt aber von anderen Objekten und Sternen, einschließlich der Sterne auf dieser Liste, weit übertroffen wird.

3. Canopus

Canopus oder Alpha Carinae befindet sich im Sternbild Carina, das von der südlichen Hemisphäre der Erde aus am leichtesten zu finden ist. Er hat eine scheinbare Helligkeit von -0,74 und eine absolute Helligkeit von -4,7.

Am Himmel erscheint Canopus für das bloße Auge rein weiß. Tatsache ist, dass unser dritthellster Stern 10.000 Mal heller leuchtet als die Sonne, acht Mal so massiv ist und einen Radius hat, der 71 Mal so groß ist wie der Radius der Sonne.

Es ist bemerkenswert, dass Canopus vor dem 20. Jahrhundert von den Astronomen im Westen weitgehend ignoriert wurde. Der Grund dafür war die Tatsache, dass die Astronomen den Stern im Vergleich zu anderen Sternen als eher unspektakulär ansahen. Im Jahr 1897 wurde er schließlich mit der Klasse F eingestuft.

4. Alpha Centauri

Alpha Centauri (Rigil Kentaurus) ist ein weiterer Stern, dessen Name in der ganzen Welt bekannt ist. Er wurde irgendwann im 2. Jahrhundert entdeckt. Mit einer Entfernung von 4,4 Lichtjahren zur Erde gilt dieser Stern als der bedeutendste Nachbarstern der Sonne.

Er hat eine scheinbare Helligkeit von -0,1 und eine absolute Helligkeit von +4,38. Im Vergleich zur Sonne hat Alpha Centauri die 1,1-fache Masse und die 1,5-fache Leuchtkraft und ist zudem deutlich kühler.

Interessante Tatsache: Alpha Centauri ist eigentlich ein Drei-Sterne-System, wobei die drei Sterne dieser Stern, Alpha Centauri A, Toliman oder Alpha Centauri B und Proxima Centauri oder Alpha Centauri C sind.

5. Arcturus

Arcturus ist durch seine rötliche Farbe von anderen Sternen zu unterscheiden. Seine Färbung hat dazu geführt, dass er als roter Riesenstern am Himmel bezeichnet wird. Er hat eine scheinbare Helligkeit von -0,04 und eine absolute Helligkeit von 0,2.

Als Teil des Sternbilds Boötes (der Hirte) ist der Stern hauptsächlich auf der Nordhalbkugel des Erdhimmels sichtbar. So hell und groß der Stern heute auch ist, viele führende Astronomen glauben, dass Arcturus am Ende seiner Lebensdauer nur noch als "weißer Zwerg" am Himmel erscheinen wird.

Für unerfahrene Sterngucker ist es am einfachsten, Arcturus zu finden, indem man den Griff des Großen Wagens" sucht, eines der bekanntesten Sternbilder der Welt.

Ich hoffe, Sie haben diese Informationen interessant und nützlich gefunden. Wenn Sie einen Stern nach einem geliebten Menschen benennen möchten, sollten Sie einen verfügbaren Stern suchen, der sich in der Nähe eines hellen Sterns befindet. Das würde es einfacher machen, ihn in einer klaren Nacht zu finden.

What is the brightest star in the sky?

By Jake Riley, SR Senior Editor

When you look into the sky, it doesn't take more than a moment or two for the brightest stars to catch your attention. On a clear night, some of the brightest stars can look as though they are close enough for you to touch.

Have you ever contemplated which of the stars ranks as the brightest? You don't have to be an astronomer or scientist to have curiosity about the universe. The reality is that some stars are brighter than others, and there are precise reasons.

At Star Register, we get lots of questions about the many type of stars, how to name a star, and even the cost to buy a star.

This affords us the opportunity to educate novice stargazers like you about the magnificent universe around us.

In the following sections, we'll take a look at the five (5) brightest stars, identify them and give you some interesting information about why are some stars brighter than others.

Factors Used to Determine the Brightness of Stars

While looking up constellation names and picking out your favorite one, you might recognize that some stars are rated brighter than others. You might question why that is and what goes into determining the brightness of stars.

For centuries, astronomers have used specific guidelines to rate the brightness of twinkling stars. All space objects have their brightness rated using a magnitude scale. The magnitude scale has two ratings: apparent and absolute.

The apparent magnitude relates to how bright a star looks in the sky to the naked eye. It's fairly easy for someone with normal eyesight to determine which of many stars appears to be brighter. To properly compare the apparent magnitude of two stars, a person would need to be positioned at an equal distance from both stars.

The absolute magnitude is a bit more objective. It relates to the intrinsic luminosity, distance, and other factors that could act to reduce its brightness. As a rule of thumb, the lower a star's absolute magnitude, the brighter the star will look to observers.

Based on this brightness rating methodology, let's take a look at the five (5) brightest stars in the sky today.

1. The Sun

Novice stargazers don't normally recognize the sun as a star. The common mistake that people make is thinking a star is an object that only is seen at night. The reality is the sun does appear at night, though its most endearing quality is it lights up the planet as it rotates around it. Yes, this is true of every object in the galaxy that could be classified as a sun.

As the closest star to Earth, the sun has an apparent magnitude (-26.7) with an absolute magnitude of only +4.8.

It's worth noting that some organizations don't consider the sun to be a star. Therefore, the next star on this list is generally considered the brightest star in the sky to said organizations.

2. Sirius

Of all the stars in the sky, only a few have recognizable names. Sirius would be one of those stars. This star is located about 8.6 light-years away from Earth, making it the closest star other than the sun. This star has an apparent magnitude of -1.46 with a +1.4 absolute magnitude.

Sirius is also referred to as the dog star because of its place in the constellation Canis Major, the Greater Dog. It's worth noting that while Sirius is rated as the second brightest star, its standing as a luminous object is far exceeded by other objects and stars, including stars on this list.

3. Canopus

Canopus or Alpha Carinae holds a place in the constellation Carina, which is the easiest constellation to locate from the Earth's Southern Hemisphere. It has an apparent magnitude of -0.74 with an absolute magnitude of -4.7.

In the sky, Canopus will appear to be pure white to the naked eye. The fact is our third brightest star is 10,000 times more luminous than the Sun, is eight times as massive, and has a radius that measures 71 times the radius of the sun.

It's noteworthy that prior to the 20th century, Canopus was largely ignored by astronomers in the West. At issue was the fact astronomers saw the star as rather unspectacular in comparison to other stars. It ended up earning a class rating of F in 1897.

4. Alpha Centauri

Alpha Centauri (Rigil Kentaurus) is another star that's name is highly recognized all over the world. It was discovered sometime in the 2nd century. At 4.4 light-years from Earth, this star is considered to be the most prominent neighboring star to the sun.

It has an apparent magnitude of -0.1 with an absolute magnitude of +4.38. In comparison to the sun, Alpha Centauri has 1.1 times the mass and 1.5 times the luminosity while also being significantly cooler.

Interesting fact: Alpha Centauri is actually a three-star system with the three stars being this star, Alpha Centauri A, Toliman or Alpha Centauri B, and Proxima Centauri or Alpha Centauri C.

5. Arcturus

Arcturus is distinguishable from other stars because of its reddish color. Its coloring led it to be referred to as the giant red star in the sky. It has an apparent magnitude of -0.04 and an absolute magnitude of 0.2.

As part of the constellation Boötes (the herdsman), the star is mostly visible in the Northern Hemisphere of the Earth's sky. As bright and big as the star is today, many leading astronomers believe that Arcturus will eventually appear as nothing more than a "white Dwarf" object in the sky once it reaches the end of its longevity.

For the benefit of novice stargazers, the easiest way to locate Arcturus is to find the handle of the "Big Dipper," one of the most recognizable constellations in the world.

Hopefully, you have found this information to be interesting and useful. If you are interested in naming a star for a loved one, you might want to consider finding an available star that is close to a bright star. That would make it easier to locate on a clear night.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I really name a star?

Yes, you can! Each order is unique to the Star Register and is recorded in the official Official register of Stars. We are one of the few legitimate Registries using advanced mapping software to assign your order.

What happens when I place my order:

Place your order on our order page and one of our experienced employees will handle everything else for you, this includes:
-Preparing relevant paperwork and electronic transmission of all necessary data to the Star register Database.
-Receipt of the response with the unique coordinates of your star
-Preparation of the star chart with the coordinates
-Preparation of the certificate and the gift Kit.

What's the difference between your different products:

We currently offer three products: (1) Deluxe (2) Supernova and (3) Twin. Each of this has it's own benefits and they can be compared on our homepage comparison chart.

How does the star chart work?

You can use the coordinates listed on your star chart to locate the star in the night sky or by searching our Official register of Stars which shows you a real photo of the star in the night sky.

Can I choose the constellation myself?

Yes, this is possible on the order form.

I can't open my order:

As our orders are digitally delivered, you can either open the kit in your browser or through Adobe Reader.

Is my order unique?

Yes. Every star coordinate is only allocated once, to a unique registration.

Where is my gift pack?

If you haven’t received the digital star pack by email within 24 hours please contact orders@starregister.org

How long is the delivery time?

We deliver by PDF within 24 hours via email. If you have not received your certificate within that time, please email orders@starregister.org

Is the star visible?

Yes, the easiest way to find the star is through the Official register of Stars. By entering the name it is easy to view the star in the night sky. However, it is also possible to find the location of the star using a telescope.

I am looking for general information about the product (cost, shipping method, payment method).

Please see our gift kit page.

I can’t manage to place an order (technical problem)!

Please send an email to orders@starregister.org

Can i have the details of my certificate changed?

Once we send the gift kit pack we aren't able to change it.