Warum Sterne glitzern (und Planeten nicht)

Sterne sind ein sich ständig veränderndes Naturphänomen - winzige Flecken am Himmel, die die Nacht erhellen. Wir alle wissen, dass sie existieren, aber was wissen wir WIRKLICH über sie?

Wie entstehen Sterne, warum funkeln sie und was hat die Sonne damit zu tun?

Das wollen wir gemeinsam herausfinden. Wir beginnen damit, wie Sterne geboren werden.

Wie Sterne geboren werden

Es ist eine gut dokumentierte Tatsache, dass Sterne aus Gas- und Staubwolken geboren werden.

Die Wolken sind riesige Ansammlungen von Staub, Gasmolekülen und anderen Partikeln, die aufgrund ihrer Anziehungskraft in sich selbst zusammenfallen können. Durch das Licht, das der kollabierende Staub aussendet, entstehen neue Sterne.

Das Sternenlicht verteilt sich als gleichmäßige Kugeln mit einem Temperaturgradienten, der an den meisten Punkten etwa 250 K (Kelvin) beträgt. Das ist 10.000 Mal wärmer als die Temperatur der Marsoberfläche. Unglaublich, oder?

Und wir wissen, was passiert, wenn wir eine feste Kugel erhitzen: Die Thermodynamik schreibt vor, dass sich die Wärme gleichmäßig über die Oberfläche verteilt, da sich Wärme immer von heiß nach kalt bewegt.

Komplizierter wird die Situation, wenn eine Wolke so dick ist, dass sie in sich zusammenfällt und Sternenlicht erzeugt. Das Licht wird in der Wolke gefangen, wodurch sie als Ganzes leuchtet. Außerdem wird es für das Licht unwahrscheinlicher, von wärmeren in kältere Regionen zu gelangen. Dadurch wird das Licht zum Glitzern gebracht. Dies wird als "diffuse Emission" bezeichnet.

Ein weiterer Faktor ist, dass sich die Temperatur von Wolken im Laufe der Zeit aufgrund ihrer Umgebung ändern kann. Das bedeutet, dass verschiedene Schichten einer Wolke an einem bestimmten Punkt im Raum unterschiedliche Temperaturen haben können. Die Energiemenge, die von solchen Wolken abgestrahlt wird, variiert und erzeugt ein Muster, das dem Sonnenlicht ähnelt, das durch das Wasser scheint. Dieses Licht wird als "gebrochen" bezeichnet.

Die Sonne ist in dieser Hinsicht eher ein Stern. Die Hitze kommt aus dem Kern und ist daher viel leichter zu kontrollieren. Die Sonne ist etwa 2.000 Mal kleiner als ihr nächster Nachbar Sirius, aber sie leuchtet doppelt so hell. Das bedeutet, dass sich das Licht der Sonne viel schneller bewegt - etwa 1.400 km/s (oder 3 Millionen km/h oder 6 Millionen mph).

Wie sterben Sterne?

Ein typischer Stern ist nicht konstant in seiner Größe. Er verändert sich von Moment zu Moment, wird heißer und kälter und wird größer oder kleiner.

Auch der Energiefluss des Sterns (pro Sekunde freigesetzte Energie) schwankt manchmal Hunderte Male pro Sekunde. Die Sterne können ihre Größe und Helligkeit schnell ändern, weil sie eine innere Struktur haben, die als "Neutronendegeneration" bekannt ist.

Sobald die "Neutronendegeneration" aufgehoben ist, kollabiert der Stern aufgrund seiner Schwerkraft - er kann sein Gewicht nicht mehr tragen. Daher ist der Tod eines Sterns unvorhersehbar, selbst bei den massivsten Sternen. Bei kleineren oder mittelgroßen Sternen wissen wir jedoch genau, wie sie sterben: Sie verwandeln sich in Nebel und dann in schwarze Löcher.

Warum Sterne glitzern

Im beobachtbaren Universum gibt es mehr als 100 Milliarden Sterne. Fast alle von ihnen scheinen zu funkeln (Planeten jedoch nicht).

Warum ist das so?

Das Funkeln der Sterne wird durch ein Phänomen namens Szintillation verursacht, das auftritt, wenn das Licht eines Sterns die Erdatmosphäre durchdringt. Laut der NASA-Website ist das Szintillationsphänomen noch nicht sehr gut erforscht, aber wir wissen, dass es mit den Turbulenzen in der Erdatmosphäre zu tun hat.

Das Sternenflimmern ist nicht nur ein visuelles Phänomen. Es ist auch ein subtiles und wichtiges Merkmal des Universums. Astronomen können es nutzen, um zu verstehen, wie sich das Universum von seiner Geburt bis zum heutigen Tag entwickelt hat.

Ein Beispiel für das Sternenflimmern ist die Reflexionsinterferometrie, bei der ein Teleskop Licht nacheinander durch zwei Teleskope schickt. Als diese Technik 1994 zum ersten Mal angewandt wurde, entdeckten die Astronomen, dass zuvor unsichtbare Sterne funkelten. Dies deutete darauf hin, dass die Masse und das Alter der Sterne zum ersten Mal genau bestimmt werden konnten.

Das Funkeln der Sterne spielt auch eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Untersuchung der Bewegung der Sterne. Einer der wichtigsten Prozesse in der Astronomie ist die Verfolgung der Bewegung von Sternen. Das Funkeln der Sterne ist für diesen Prozess nützlich.

Warum Planeten nicht glitzern

Planeten funkeln nicht oder scheinen nicht zu funkeln, weil sie so weit von unseren Teleskopen entfernt sind. Teleskope auf der Erde können Sterne nur innerhalb eines bestimmten Bereichs der Sternhelligkeit erkennen.

Da Planeten im Allgemeinen viel dunkler sind als Sterne, sind sie für die meisten Teleskope bei Nacht unsichtbar. Das bedeutet, dass ein Astronom einen Planeten nur dann beobachten kann, wenn er durch das Sternenlicht verdeckt wird.

Astronomen können Techniken anwenden, um Planeten anhand verschiedener Teile ihres Lichts aufzuspüren. Eine der zuverlässigsten Techniken besteht darin, auf die leichte Abschwächung eines Planeten zu achten, wenn sich mehrere Sterne im Sichtfeld befinden.

Warum blinkt die Sonne nicht?

Die Sonne ist aufgrund der Erdatmosphäre zu weit von der Erde entfernt, als dass man sie blinzeln sehen könnte.

Die Atmosphäre verursacht das Glitzern der Sterne. Sie kann jedoch durch Sonnenflecken beeinträchtigt werden. Das sind Flecken auf der Sonnenoberfläche, die wie dunkle Blutergüsse aussehen, die durch eine plötzliche Ausdehnung von heißem Gas aus dem Sonneninneren verursacht werden.

Die dunklen Flecken sind kühler als der Rest der Sonne, und sie blockieren einen Teil des Lichts, das die Erdatmosphäre normalerweise herausfiltert. Bei der Betrachtung durch ein Teleskop können die dunklen Flecken daher zu funkeln scheinen.

Schlussfolgerung

Im Allgemeinen funkeln Sterne aufgrund ihrer Entfernung von der Erde. Wenn ihr Licht die Erde erreicht, wird es von der Erdatmosphäre gebeugt (gebrochen) und scheint zu funkeln.

Die Nähe der Sonne zur Erde führt dazu, dass sie nicht mehr als winziger Punkt am Himmel, sondern als bedeutende Lichtquelle wahrgenommen wird.

Die Planeten erzeugen nicht so viel Wärme und Licht wie die Sterne; daher können sie nur gesehen werden, wenn man sie fokussiert.

bright star

Why do stars twinkle (and planets don’t)

By Jake Riley, SR Senior Editor

Stars are an ever-changing natural phenomenon - tiny speckles in the sky that illuminate the night. We all know that they exist, but what do we REALLY know about them?

How are stars formed, why do they twinkle and how does the Sun play into all this?

Let’s find out together, shall we. We’ll start with how stars are born.

How stars are born

It's a well-documented fact that stars are born from clouds of gas and dust.

The clouds are massive reservoirs of dust, gas molecules, and other particles that can collapse in on themselves because of their gravitational pull. The light emitted by the collapsing dust creates new stars.

The starlight is distributed as uniform spheres with a temperature gradient at most points equaling some 250 K (Kelvin). That's 10,000 times warmer than the temperature of the surface of Mars. Pretty unbelievable, right?

And we know what happens when we heat a solid sphere: thermodynamics dictates that heat is equally distributed over the surface since heat always moves from hot to cold.

The situation becomes more complicated when a cloud is thick enough to start collapsing in on itself and create starlight. The light gets trapped in the cloud, causing it to glow as a whole. It also becomes less likely for light to move from warmer regions into colder ones. This causes the light to twinkle. This is called "diffuse emission".

Another factor is that clouds can change temperature over time because of their surroundings. This means that different layers of a cloud can have different temperatures at a given point in space. The amount of energy radiated by such clouds varies, creating a pattern likening to sunlight shining through the water. Such light is called "refracted".

The Sun is more of a star in this respect. The heat comes from the core, so it's much easier to control. The Sun is about 2,000 times smaller than its nearest neighbor, Sirius, yet it glows twice as bright. This means that the light from the Sun is moving much faster — some 1,400 km/s (or 3 million km/h or 6 million mph).

How do stars die

A typical star is not constant in size. It changes from moment to moment, getting hotter and colder and becoming larger or smaller.

The star's energy flux (energy released per second) also fluctuates sometimes hundreds of times a second. The stars can rapidly change their size and brightness because they have an internal structure known as "neutron degeneracy".

Once the "neutron degeneracy" is removed, the star will collapse due to its gravity — without being able to support its weight anymore. Therefore, the death of a star is unpredictable, even for the most massive stars. When it comes to smaller or average-sized stars, however, we know exactly how they die: they turn into nebulae and then black holes.

Why stars twinkle

There are more than 100 billion stars in the observable universe. Almost all of them appear to twinkle (but planets don't).

Why is that?

The twinkling of stars is caused by a phenomenon called scintillation, which occurs when light from a star passes through Earth's atmosphere. According to NASA's website, scintillation is still not very well understood, but we know that it has to do with turbulence in the Earth's atmosphere.

Stellar twinkling is not just a visual phenomenon. It is also a subtle and important feature of the universe. Astronomers can use it to understand how the universe evolved from its birth until the present day.

One example of stellar twinkling is reflected interferometry, in which a telescope sends light through two telescopes in succession. When this technique was first used in 1994, astronomers discovered that previously invisible stars were twinkling. This indicated that stars' mass and age had been accurately determined for the first time.

The twinkling of stars also plays a crucial role in studying how stars move. One of the most essential processes in astronomy is tracking stellar movement. The twinkling of stars is useful for this process.

Why planets don't twinkle

Planets do not twinkle or appear to because they are so far from our telescopes. Earth-based telescopes can only detect stars within a specific range of stellar brightness’s.

Since planets are generally much dimmer than stars, they are invisible to most telescopes at night. This means that unless an astronomer specifically sets out to observe a planet, it will not show up because it is masked by starlight.

Astronomers can use techniques to detect planets using different parts of their light. One of the most reliable techniques is to watch for a planet's slight dimming when several stars are in the field of view.

Why does the Sun not twinkle?

The Sun is too far away from Earth to be seen twinkling due to the Earth's atmosphere.

The atmosphere causes the twinkling in stars. However, it can still be affected by sunspots, which are spots on the Sun's surface that look like dark bruises caused by a sudden expansion of hot gas ejected from its interior.

The dark spots are cooler than the rest of the Sun, and they block a portion of the light that Earth's atmosphere normally filters out. So when viewed through a telescope, the dark spots can appear to twinkle.

Conclusion

Generally, stars twinkle because of their distance from the Earth, and by the time their light gets to the Earth, it is bent (refracted) by the Earth's atmosphere and appears to twinkle.

The proximity of the Sun to the Earth makes it not twinkle since instead of being viewed as a tiny dot in the sky, it is seen as a significant source of light.

The planets do not produce as much heat and light as stars; hence, they can only be viewed when focusing on them.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I really name a star?

Yes, you can! Each order is unique to the Star Register and is recorded in the official Official register of Stars. We are one of the few legitimate Registries using advanced mapping software to assign your order.

What happens when I place my order:

Place your order on our order page and one of our experienced employees will handle everything else for you, this includes:
-Preparing relevant paperwork and electronic transmission of all necessary data to the Star register Database.
-Receipt of the response with the unique coordinates of your star
-Preparation of the star chart with the coordinates
-Preparation of the certificate and the gift Kit.

What's the difference between your different products:

We currently offer three products: (1) Deluxe (2) Supernova and (3) Twin. Each of this has it's own benefits and they can be compared on our homepage comparison chart.

How does the star chart work?

You can use the coordinates listed on your star chart to locate the star in the night sky or by searching our Official register of Stars which shows you a real photo of the star in the night sky.

Can I choose the constellation myself?

Yes, this is possible on the order form.

I can't open my order:

As our orders are digitally delivered, you can either open the kit in your browser or through Adobe Reader.

Is my order unique?

Yes. Every star coordinate is only allocated once, to a unique registration.

Where is my gift pack?

If you haven’t received the digital star pack by email within 24 hours please contact orders@starregister.org

How long is the delivery time?

We deliver by PDF within 24 hours via email. If you have not received your certificate within that time, please email orders@starregister.org

Is the star visible?

Yes, the easiest way to find the star is through the Official register of Stars. By entering the name it is easy to view the star in the night sky. However, it is also possible to find the location of the star using a telescope.

I am looking for general information about the product (cost, shipping method, payment method).

Please see our gift kit page.

I can’t manage to place an order (technical problem)!

Please send an email to orders@starregister.org

Can i have the details of my certificate changed?

Once we send the gift kit pack we aren't able to change it.